Daisy Awards

 #16 Daisy Awards




The insignia on a girl's uniform are a record of her adventures and accomplishments as a Girl Scout. Insignia is the general term for all official items that girls and adults can wear on their uniforms.

  • Earned Level Awards: Earned by completing requirements or demonstrating understanding of a concept, as outlined in Girl Scout program books, including bridging awards, journey award, and Daisy through Ambassador level awards.

  • Participation Patches and Pins: Supplementary insignia developed at the national or council level with a focus on participation. Some come with companion activity booklets. Includes American Flag Patch, fun patches, and the World Thinking Day Patch.

The Daisy Girl Scout Promise Center

The Girl Scout Promise
On my honor, I will try:
To serve God and my country,
To help people at all times,
and to live by the Girl Scout Law.

This Promise Center is awarded to a girl when she has reached some understanding of the principles defined in the Girl Scout Promise. At each meeting girls should be encouraged to practice reciting the Promise,. Learning the Promise and understanding it’s meaning helps girls comprehend that Girl Scout meetings are a special place and the Girl Scouting program is different from their other activities.

The Learning Petal

Once a girl has earned the Promise Center, she can begin to learn each part of the Girl Scout Law. As they do so, they receive a Daisy Learning Petal to be placed in any order around the Promise Center on her vest or tunic. To earn the petals, the Girl Scout Daisy should be able to show and demonstrate some understanding of each of the Law components. Begin by reviewing what it means, for instance, to be “friendly and helpful”. The ask how she can show this. Perhaps at home she can spend time “helping” her parents with house hold duties or she can be “friendly” to a new girl at school. 

Daisy Journey Awards

Welcome to the Daisy Flower Garden

This Journey has three awards, which tie directly to the garden theme, recognizing girls’ progress in applying the Law to their lives.


  • The Watering Can Award – represents girls being “responsible for what I say or do”. Girls earn the award by caring for their mini-garden and beginning to understand how the Promise and Law play out in their daily lives
  • The Golden Honey Bee Award – represents taking action through a gardening effort for others to make the world a better place. The award is named Honey for the bee who is one of the Daisy Flower characters.
  • The Amazing Daisy Award - represents knowing and living the Promise and Law, just like Amazing Daisy, the main character of the Journey.


Between Earth and Sky

In this journey, the flower friends take a cross-country road trip that invites Daisies to explore what sprouts up across the country as they learn how to protect what needs protecting!


  • The Blue Bucket Award – encourages girls to become aware of their feelings and the feelings of those around them. It also encourages them to develop good relationship skills like negotiating, compromising, resolving conflict and being considerate
  • The Firefly Award – encourages girls to recognize and develop their skills and then choose a skill they will educate and inspire others about.
  • The Clover Award – has the girls team up to protect a natural treasure in their region.


5 Flowers, 4 Stories and 3 Cheers for Animals!

Daisies learn just how much they can care for animals and for themselves -- and just how good that makes them feel.



  • The Birdbath Award – Daisies learn to care for animals and for themselves.                                                                                                               
  • The Red Robin Award – Daisies use their new knowledge and creativity to teach others how to care for animals.
  • The Tula Award – Daisies gain courage and confidence in teaching others about animal care.