Brownie Awards

 #17 Brownie Awards




The insignia on a girl's uniform are a record of her adventures and accomplishments as a Girl Scout. Insignia is the general term for all official items that girls and adults can wear on their uniforms. 

Journey Awards

 It’s Your World – Change it!  Brownie Quest

Girl Scout Brownies are invited on a search. The three keys they will uncover along their journey are the keys of the Girl Scout leadership philosophy. Shhhhh! Don't give away the details! It's important to keep the fun and mystery going! As Brownies move through the journey, the Quest Master Map offers a visual record of their progress along the Quest. The girls have their own mini version of the Quest Map in their book.


What do they earn and how do they earn them?

  • The Discover Key – To earn this award, each Girl Scout Brownie will discover herself and her values—as a Girl Scout and a member of her family.
  • The Connect Key – To earn this award, each Girl Scout Brownie will connect as a member of a Brownie Team, with her family on a healthy-living activity, and, as a group with their community to increase healthy-living opportunities
  • The Take Action Key – To earn this award, Girl Scout Brownies will team up to identify a community place where the team can Take Action. Then they join together to make a plan to Take Action and carry out their Take Action Project to improve their world.
  • The Brownie Quest Award – At the end of the Quest, the girls also earn the journey's culminating award, the master lock that needs all three of their keys in order to open. Through this award, the Brownies will see that, together, their three keys—Discover, Connect, and Take Action—unlock the meaning of leadership.


It’s Your Planet – WOW! Wonders of Water

Water gives you so many ways to get wet and have fun.  And life can’t exist without water.  On this journey Brownies will find out how to love water, save water and share water.  .

What do they earn and how do they earn them?

  • LOVE Water - This first award encourages girls to become aware of the many ways they use and enjoy water. As they begin to understand the science of water and its importance in the world, they will also make a personal commitment to protect it.
  • SAVE Water - The second award is earned when the Brownies team up and speak up as advocates to protect water or keep it clean in their community. Girls start thinking as a team about what they will do for water. By making an effort that moves beyond themselves, the girls begin to realize the impact that group efforts can produce.
  • SHARE Water - Girls earn the third award as they create an even bigger ripple by sharing their efforts for water with others, educating and inspiring them to join in, and asking them to commit to a water promise.

WOW! - Girls culminate their journey by earning the WOW! Award, a grand finale that symbolizes the powerful change they've brought to their community. They earn the award by showing proof of their SHARE Water efforts, and by describing how their efforts relate to the Girl Scout Law and how they have had an impact as leaders


It’s Your Story – Tell it!  A World of Girls

Stories are everywhere – in books, on TV, in the movies, and on the Web.  Stories are one of the best ways to explore what life is like for girls around the world.  Making the world better for girls – that’s the story of this journey!

What do they earn and how do they earn them?

Complete requirements for four badges.  Those badges are:

  1. Hear a Story
  2. Change a Story
  3. Tell A Story
  4. Better World for Girls!

Brownie Journey Summit Award: Earned when you complete all three Brownie Journeys



National Proficiency Badges

These badges are called “proficiency badges” because when you earn one it means you gained a skill you’re ready to use to give service to others.  There are four kinds of proficiency badges:  Legacy badges, financial literacy badges, cookie business badges and skill building badges.  There’s also a MAKE YOUR OWN BADGE!  These badge requirements can be found in the Brownie Girl’s Guide to Girl Scouting.


My Promise, My Faith 

Earning this award helps a girl explore how Girl Scouting and their faith offer similar ideas about how to act --- and how Girl scouting can tie into their faith.  A girl can earn this pin once a year, every year they are in Girl Scouts.  They just choose a different line of the Law each year!



Cookie Activity Pin:  Participate in the cookie sale!



World Thinking Day Award: In honor of this day, Girl Scouts take part in special activities to honor their sisters around the world.  Every year, girls “think” about something that connects them to their global sisterhood.  To find out what you need to do to earn this award, click here.

Global Action Award: When you earn this award, you’ll learn more about how girls live around the world.  To find out more, click here.